Project Director


Emma J. Rosi, PhD, Ecologist, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, 2801 Sharon Turnpike, Box AB, Millbrook, NY 12545, (845) 677-7600 x 232, Email: rosie@caryinstitute.org


Co-Principal Investigator


Matthew E. Baker, PhD, Chair, Department of Geography and Environmental Systems & Graduate Program Director, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 1000 Hilltop Circle, 211 Sondheim Hall, Baltimore, MD 21250, Email: mbaker@umbc.edu

Lawrence E. Band, PhD, Professor, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Department of Geography, Saunders Hall C.B. #3220, Chapel Hill, NC 27599, (919) 962-3921, Email: lband@virginia.edu

Alan R. Berkowitz, PhD, Head of Education, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, 2801 Sharon Turnpike, Box AB, Millbrook, NY 12545, (845) 677-7600 x 311, Email: berkowitza@caryinstitute.org

Christopher Boone, PhD, Associate Professor, School of Human Evolution & Social Change, Global Institute of Sustainability, Arizona State University, PO Box 872402 Tempe, AZ 85287-2402, (480) 727-6017, Email: Christopher.G.Boone@asu.edu

Geoffrey Buckley, PhD, Professor, Ohio University, Department of Geography, Clippinger Lab Room 104, Athens, OH 45701, (740) 593-9846, Email: buckleyg@ohio.edu

Mary L. Cadenasso, PhD, Professor, Department of Plant Sciences, University of California, Davis, Mail Stop 1 1210 PES, One Shields Avenue, Davis, California 95616-8780, (530) 754-6151, Email: mlcadenasso@ucdavis.edu

Edward J. Doheny, Hydrologist, US Geological Survey, MD-DE-DC Water Science Center, 5522 Research Park Drive, Baltimore, MD 21228, (443) 498-5535, Email: ejdoheny@usgs.gov

Jonathan Duncan, PhD, Assistant Professor, Pennsylvania State University, Department of Ecosystem Science & Management, University Park, PA 16802, Email: jmduncan@psu.edu

Peter Groffman, Professor, City University of New York, Advanced Science Research Center, 85 St. Nicholas Terrace, 5th Floor, New York, NY 10031, 2124133143, Email: peter.groffman@asrc.cuny.edu

J. Morgan Grove, PhD, Social Ecologist, USDA Forest Service, Northern Research Station & Baltimore Ecosystem Study, UMBC, 5200 Westland Blvd., TRC 171, Baltimore, MD 21227, (802) 238-4328, Email: jmgrove@gmail.com

Elena Irwin, PhD, Associate Professor, Agricultural, Environmental and Development Economics, Ohio State University, 316 Agricultural Administration Building, 2120 Fyffe Road, Columbus, OH 43210, (614) 292-6449, Email: Irwin.78@osu.edu

Sujay Kaushal, PhD, Assistant Professor-Ecologist, University of Maryland, College Park, 5825 University Research Court, Room #4048, College Park, MD 20740-3823, (301) 405-7048, Email: skaushal@umd.edu

John J. Kelly, PhD, Professor and Associate Chairperson, Department of Biology, Loyola University Chicago, 1032 West Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660, 773.508.7097, Email: jkelly7@luc.edu

Shannon L. LaDeau, PhD, Ecologist, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, 2801 Sharon Turnpike, Box AB, Millbrook, NY 12545, (845) 677-7600 x 311, Email: ladeaus@caryinstitute.org

Andrew J. Miller, PhD, Chair, University of Maryland Baltimore County, Department of Geography and Environmental Systems, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250, (410) 455-3151, Email: miller@umbc.edu

Charles H. Nilon, PhD, Associate Professor of Wildlife Management, University of Missouri – Columbia School of Natural Resources Fisheries and Wildlife, 302 Anheuser-Busch Natural Resources Bldg., Columbia, MO 65211-7240, (573)-882-3738, Email: nilonc@missouri.edu

David J. Nowak, PhD, Senior Scientist / i-Tree Team Leader, USDA Forest Service, Northeastern Research Station, 5 Moon Library, SUNY-CESF, Syracuse, NY 13210, 315-448-3212, Email: dnowak@fs.fed.us

Laura A. Ogden, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology, Dartmouth College, 6047 Silsby Hall,, Hanover, NH 03755, Email: Laura.A.Ogden@dartmouth.edu 

Steward T. A. Pickett, PhD, Distinguished Senior Scientist, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, 2801 Sharon Turnpike, Box AB, Millbrook, NY 12545, (845) 677-7600 x 130, Email: picketts@caryinstitute.org

Alexander J. Reisinger, PhD, Assistant Professor of Urban Soil and Water Quality, University of Florida, Soil and Water Sciences Department, 352-294-3108, Email: reisingera@ufl.edu

Lisa M. Schroeder, President & CEO, Parks & People Foundation, 2100 Liberty Heights Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217, (410) 448-5663

James A. Smith, PhD, Professor of Engineering & Applied Science, Chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Princeton University, E413 Engineering Quad, Princeton, NJ 08544, Email: jsmith@princeton.edu

Christopher M. Swan, PhD, Dept. of Geography & Environmental Systems, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250, (410) 455-3957, Email: chris.swan@umbc.edu

Katalin Szlavecz, PhD, Research Professor, The Johns Hopkins University, Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences, Olin Hall, 3400 N. Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218-2687, (410) 516-8947, Email: szlavecz@jhu.edu

Austin Troy, PhD, Associate Professor, University of Colorado, Denver, School of Natural Resources, Dept. of Planning and Design, Denver, CO 80208, 303-315-1006, Email: Austin.troy@ucdenver.edu

Claire Welty, PhD, Director, Center for Urban Environmental Research and Education, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 1000 Hilltop Circle, TRC 102, Baltimore, MD 21250, (410) 455-1766, Email: weltyc@umbc.edu


Collaborator


C. Andy Anderson, PhD, Michigan State University

Daniel J. Bain, PhD, Assistant Professor, University of Pittsburgh, Department of Geology and Planetary Science, 200 SRCC, 4107 O’Hara St., Pittsburgh, PA 15260, (412) 624-8766, Email: dbain@pitt.edu

Vanessa B. Beauchamp, PhD, Assistant Professor of Biology, Department of Biological Sciences, Towson University, 8000 York Road, Smith Hall, Room 215C, (410) 704-2286, Email: vbeauchamp@towson.edu

Kenneth Belt, P.E., Hydrologist/Aquatic Ecologist, US Forest Service, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Room 180, TRC Building, 5200 Westland Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21227, (410) 455-8011, Email: kbelt@fs.fed.us

Grace Brush, PhD, Professor, Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering, The Johns Hopkins University, 303 Ames Hall, 34th and Charles Sts., Baltimore, MD 21218, (410) 516-7107, Email: gbrush@jhu.edu

Michael A. Clark, U.S. Geological Survey

Shawn E. Dalton, PhD Thrive Consulting, 25 Colonial Heights, Fredericton, NB, E3B 5M2, Canada, (506) 449-1395, Email: shawn@shawndalton.com

Anne Draddy, Baltimore City Department of Public Works, Office of Sustainable Energy

Sam Droege, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, Email: sam_droege@usgs.gov

Emily Elliott, PhD, Assistant Professor, University of Pittsburgh, Department of Geology and Planetary Science, 502 SRCC Building, 4107 O’Hara Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15260-3332, (412) 624-8882, Email: eelliott@pitt.edu

Erle C. Ellis, Professor, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Department of Geography and Environmental Systems, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250, 410 455-2002, Email: ece@umbc.edu

Alexander J. Felson, PhD RLA, Assistant Profrssor, Yale University School of Architecture, School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, 195 Prospect Street, Room 135, New Haven, CT 06511, (203) 436-5120, Email: alex.felson@yale.edu

Gary T. Fisher, PE, Scientist Emeritus (Hydrologist), US Geological Survey Water Mission Area, 5522 Research Park Drive, Baltimore, MD 21228, (410) 262-8632, Email: gtfisher@usgs.gov

Mike Galvin, Director, SavATree Consulting Group, 550 Bedford Road, Bedford Hills, NY 10507, (914) 403-8959

Gordon M. Heisler, PhD, Meteorologist

Quintaniay Holifield, PhD, Research Soil Scientist, USDA Forest Service, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 5200 Westland Blvd, TRC Room 134, Baltimore, MD 21227, (410) 455-8017, Email: qholifield@fs.fed.us

John Hom, PhD, Biological Scientist, Climate, Fire and Carbon Cycle Sciences, USDA Forest Service, Northeastern Forest Experiment Station, 11 Campus Boulevard, Suite 200, Newton Square, PA 19073, (610) 557-4097, Email: jhom@fs.fed.us

Lea R. Johnson, PhD, Assistant Professor, University of Maryland, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Department of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture, 2134 Plant Sciences Building, College Park, MD 20742, (301) 405-1602, Email: leaj@umd.edu

Alice Kennedy, Sustainability Coordinator, Baltimore City Office of Sustainability

H. Allen Klaiber, PhD, Associate Professor, Ohio State University

D. Johan Kotze, PhD, University of Helsinki, Lahti

Jeffrey J. Kvech, U.S. Geological Survey

Neely Law, PhD, Watershed Analyst, Center for Watershed Protection, 8390 Main Street, 2nd Floor, Ellicott City, MD 21043-4605, (410) 461-8323, Email: nll@cwp.org

Garth Lindner, PhD, University of Missouri

Ethel V. Locks, Community Builder Fellow, US Department of Housing and Urban Development, Maryland State Office, City Crescent Building City Crescent Building 10 South Howard Street, 5th Floor, 10 South Howard Street, 5th Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201-2528, (410) 962-2520 Ext 3307, Email: Ethel_V._Locks@hud.gov

Charles Lord, Urgent VC, 831 Beacon Street, Suite 232, Newton Center, MA 02459, (617) 431-7844, Email: cp.lord@gmail.com

Paul M. Mayer, PhD, Chief, Ecological Effect Branch, US Environmental Protection Agency, National Risk Management Research Lab, Western Ecology Division, 200 SW 35th St, Corvallis, OR 97333 USA, 541-754-4673, Email: mayer.paul@epa.gov

Brian McGrath, Associate Professor of Urban Design/Urban Design Specialist, Parsons the New School for Design, 60-64 Union St. 2N, Newark, NJ 07105-1430, (973) 817-9057, Email: mcgrath@newschool.edu

Brian Miles, PhD, University of North Carolina

John Moore, PhD, Colorado State University

David A. Newburn, PhD, Assistant Professor, University of Maryland, College Park, 222A Symons Hall, College Park, MD 20742, (301) 405-8042, Email: dnewburn@umd.edu

Jarlath O’Neil-Dunne, Geospatial Specialist, University of Vermont, Rubenstein School of the Environment and Natural Resources, 81 Carrigan Drive, Burlington, VT 05405, (802) 656-3324, Email: joneildu@uvm.edu

Matthew Patterson, USDA Forest Service

Richard V. Pouyat, PhD, Forest Ecologist, USDA Forest Service, Rosslyn Plaza, Building C, 1601 North Kent Street, 4th Floor, Arlington, VA 22209-2137, (703) 605-5286, Email: rpouyat@fs.fed.us

Christine C. Rega Brodsky, Collaborator, Assistant Professor, Pittsburg State University, 223 Heckert-Wells Hall, 1701 S. Broadway, Pittsburg, KS 66762, Email: christinerega@mail.missouri.edu

Michele Romolini, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow & Adjunct Faculty, Loyola Marymount University, Center for Urban Resilience, 1 LMU Drive Research Annex 120, Los Angeles, CA 90045, (310) 338-5104, Email: michele.romolini@lmu.edu

Valerie Rupp, Assistant Director, Community Greening and Great Parks, Parks & People, 2100 Liberty Heights Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217, (410) 448-5663, Email: valerie.rupp@parksandpeople.org

Nicanor Saliendra, PhD, Ecologist, USDA ARS

Heikki Setala, PhD, University of Helsinki, Lahti

Robert J. Shedlock, U.S. Geological Survey Center Director, U.S. Geological Survey, 5522 Research Park Drive, Baltimore, Maryland 21228, (410) 262-8632, Email: rjshedlo@usgs.gov

Bryant Smith, USDA Forest Service, Northern Research Station, 290 Broadway, 26th Floor, New York, NY 10007, Email: bsmith@bluewaterbaltimore.org

Nancy F. Sonti, USDA Forest Service, Baltimore Field Station, 5523 Research Park Drive, Suite 350, Baltimore, MD 21228, (443) 543-5387, Email: nancyfsonti@fs.fed.us

William P. Stack, Deputy Director of Programs, Center for Watershed Protection, 8390 Main Street, Second Floor, Ellicott City, MD 21043-4605, (410) 461-8323, Email: bps@cwp.org

Christina L. Tague, PhD, Assistant Professor Hydrology, Donald Bren School of Environmental Science & Management, 4516 Bren Hall, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-5131, (805) 893-8579, Email: ctague@bren.ucsb.edu

Paige Warren, PhD, Research Assistant Professor, University of Massachusetts – Amherst, Department of Environmental Conservation, 216 Holdsworth Hall, Holdsworth Way, Amherst, MA 01003, (413) 545-0061, Email: pswarren@eco.umass.edu

Tiffany Wendland, Secondary Coordinator, Office of Science, Baltimore County Public Schools

Thomas H. Whitlow, PhD, Associate Professor, Cornell University, Plant Science Building, Room 23, Department of Horticulture, Ithaca NY 14853, Email: thw2@cornell.edu

Allison Whitmer, PhD, Assistant Dean of Sciences, Georgetown College, Georgetown University, 108 White-Gravenor, 37th and O Streets, NW, Washington, DC 20057-1003, (202) 687-4043, Email: acw39@georgetown.edu

Douglas Wrenn, PhD, Assistant Professor, Penn State University, College of Agricultural Sciences

Ian Yesilonis, Soil Scientist, USDA Forest Service, 5523 Research Park, Suite 350, Baltimore, MD 21228, (443) 543-5381, Email: iyesilonis@fs.fed.us

Charles B. Yuill, Associate Professor & Environmental Consultant, West Virgina University, 1142 Agricultural Sciences Building, PO Box 6108, Morgantown, WV 26506, (304) 293-5674, Email: cyuill@wvu.edu

Wayne Zipperer, PhD, Research Forester, USDA Forest Service, Southern Research Station, University of Florida, Bldg 164, Mowry Road, P.O. Box 110806, Gainesville FL 32611-0806, (352) 376-4576, Email: WZipperer@fs.fed.us


Graduate Student


Dorothy Borowy, PhD Student, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Geography and Environmental Systems, 211 Sondheim Hall, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250, Email: bdoro1@umbc.edu

Ela-Sita Carpenter, Graduate Student, Univesity of Missouri, Columbia, 302 Anheuser-Busch Natural Resource Building, University of Missouri, Columbia MO 65211, Advisor: Charles Nilon, Email: esc986@mail.missouri.edu

Chih-han Chang, Johns Hopkins University, Email: yuanpau@gmail.com

Zhengtao Cui, Graduate Student, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Advisor: Claire Welty

Jeffrey Ferris, Graduate Student, University of Maryland, Advisor: David Newburn

Mehdi Heris, Graduate Student, University of Colorado, Advisor: Austin Troy

Nic Irwin, Graduate Student, Ohio State University, Advisor: Elena Irwin

Mitch Livy, Graduate Student, Ohio State University, Advisor: Elena Irwin

Christopher Nytch, Graduate Student, University of Puerto Rico /US Forest Service, Advisor: Morgan Grove

Christopher Ryan, PhD Student, The City University of New York, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Advanced Science Research Center, 85 St. Nicholas Terrace, 5th Floor, New York, NY 10031, Email: Christopher.Ryan@asrc.cuny.edu

Mariya Shcheglovitova, Graduate Student, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Advisor: Chris Swan

Erin Stapleton, Graduate Student, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Advisor: Claire Welty

Robert Taylor, Graduate Student, University of Colorado, Denver, Advisor: Austin Troy

Tissa Thomas, Graduate Student, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Advisor: Alan Berkowitz

Grant Thompson, Graduate Student, Cornell University, Advisor: Peter Groffman

Nicole Voelker, Graduate Student, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Advisor: Chris Swan

Chang Wang, Graduate Student, Ohio State University, Advisor: Elena Irwin


K-12 Teacher


Martin Schmidt, McDonogh School, 2718 Appleseed Road, Owings Mills, MD 21117


Post Doc


Wen-Ching Chuang, PhD, Post doctoral Fellow, Arizona State University, Advisor: Chris Boone

Dexter Locke, Post Doctorate, SESYNC, dexter.locke@gmail.com

Marissa Matsler, Post Doctorate, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, 2801 Sharon Turnpike, Box AB, Millbrook, NY 12545

Amanda Suchy, Post Doctoral, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, 2801 Sharon Turnpike, Milllbrook, NY 12545, Email: suchya@caryinstitute.org


Staff


Bess Caplan, Ecology Education Program Leader, Center for Urban Environmental Research and Education, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 1000 Hilltop Circle, TRC 173, Baltimore, MD 21250, (410) 448-5663, Email: caplanb@caryinstitute.org

Benjamin R. Glass-Siegel, Assistant Research Specialist, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Baltimore Ecosystem Study, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Room 134, Technology Research Center Building, 5200 Westland Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21227, Email: glasssiegelb@caryinstitute.org

Lisa Martel, Technician, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, 2801 Sharon Turnpike, PO Box AB, Millbrook, NY 12545, 845-677-7600 x 244, Email: martell@caryinstitute.org

Maribeth Rubenstein, Project and Social Media Coordinator, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, 2801 Sharon Turnpike, PO Box AB, Millbrook, NY 12545, (845) 677-7600 x 236, Email: BESinfo@caryinstitute.org

Amy Rynes, Center for Urban Environmental Research and Education, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 1000 Hilltop Cricle TRC 102, Baltimore, MD 21250, (410) 455-1764, Email: amyrynes@umbc.edu